New Sheriff in Town

Dan Lewis-

As our wonderful Editor-in-Chief steps down from her position so as to graduate with the rest of her class, she has made the decision to pass the Rambler torch to me.

Whether this was a good idea or not remains to be seen.

Seriously though, I can’t express how grateful I am to have been given this opportunity. Who could’ve known that less than two years after coming to IC and joining the Rambler I would become Editor-in-Chief? Certainly not me!

When I first arrived on campus at the start of my first year, I hardly knew anyone. The only people that I knew here were the few cross country teammates of mine who went on the team trip to Colorado with me the week prior. One of these teammates was an editor for the Rambler, and, since I had no friends and nothing to do, I joined up. I figured that this would be a good way to make friends, build my resume, and improve my writing skills. I wrote feature articles for a year and then was made Features Editor at the beginning of my sophomore year. Now I gladly take up the mantle of Editor-in-Chief.

All because I didn’t have any friends.

I’d like to say that I have a few more friends now, but who knows, maybe they all secretly hate me. Either way, joining this newspaper was one of greatest decisions that I have ever made. I get to write about whatever I like. I can find out the details about a problem on campus. I am able to bring the student’s opinions to light with every issue.

It’s like a dream come true!

Next year I will also take on the position of Student Senate Vice-President. While this might seem like an attempt to take of the government and press of Illinois College, I only mean well. (really, I swear!) Ever since I joined the Rambler and Student Senate, I have been made aware of many issues on campus and concerns of students. I have taken on these leadership roles in the hopes of addressing and solving these concerns and issues in any way that I can. As Editor-in-Chief, I plan on reporting campus events and problems fairly and regularly, broadcasting to this school the matters that are the most important to the students of Illinois College.

I am excited and honored to take on this challenge and hope that all of you students, staff, and faculty are as well. I don’t know what the future will hold for this newspaper or for me, but I plan on making this journey a fun and informative one. I hope you will all join me in this adventure, either by joining our ranks as writers and photographers or as readers.

So if there is one thing that you gain from this letter, it’s this important message:
If you don’t have any friends, join the Rambler.

Cheers,

Dan Lewis

Leave a Reply

