I’m Not Tuning You Out

Jordan Washington –

If you really know me, you know that I am one of the biggest music lovers out there.

Music is one of my passions in this life and it’s impossible for me to go through a day without listening to it. If you see me around campus, you may see me with my headphones in all the time.

A lot of the comments that I get from people are “Why do you always have your earbuds in?” or “ So you don’t like talking to people?” In my head, I’m responding “Why does it make a difference to you?”  I mean seriously, just because I have my earphones in my ears about 99.9 percent of the time doesn’t mean that I’m trying to always tune the world out. I love doing things in silence, believe it or not and at times, music can be a distraction for me.

With anything you might enjoy doing, you are going to try to enjoy it every chance you get. When you get into a new relationship, the first stages of the new relationship, you and your significant other want to spend as much time as possible. That’s just how I am with music. Music makes  my life more enjoyable. I’ve never went through diseases such as depression and I have always loved my life, but listening to my favorite songs helps me stay sane and happy most of the time.

untitled

Just because someone has earphones in a lot, doesn’t necessarily mean that they’re shy or that they don’t want to talk to anyone. I love talking to and meeting new people, so me and that description of being ‘closed off’  clearly aren’t synonymous. I love music because it adds joy to my life.  I am always on the search for new songs and new artists. Whenever I hear a new song and I see the download button speed up on my IPod, I become a little child opening a new toy for Christmas.

Just because I have my earphones in my ears, doesn’t mean that I want to be closed off from my surroundings . People just assume–which is a very bad habit–that I want nothing to do with them. This is why I like those brave souls who go against the status quo and come say something to me when I have my earphones on.  When you enjoy something so much and it’s easily accessible, you are going to take every/any type of advantage of it.

Next time you see me or someone else with headphones on, don’t assume that they despise you or want to be left alone. Go and say something to them, because it will make your and their day a little bit better.

 

Jordan Washington, from Olympia Fields, Illinois, is a junior majoring in English with a double minor in Music and Communications at Illinois College. Jordan is a opinions writer for The Rambler and is a member of Forte and Wind Ensemble.

Leave a Reply

