Lettider: #CapsOn

By Jessica Sanders

It’s that time again; baseball season is here! April 2 was opening day for one of the biggest rivals in baseball: Chicago Cubs and St. Louis Cardinals. I would love to mention, it has been exactly five months since the Cubs won the World Series. For me, that has been the last game I have seen and boy is it exciting to have baseball season back!

The love of baseball runs in my family, as well as friends. As a Chicago Cubs fan, I’ve had to endure a lot of heat, and without a doubt, I will continue to do so. With my family and friends, if you are not a Cubs fan, chances are high that you prefer the Cards. We all have that one (or more in my case) person who is an avid Cardinals fan. For me, this happens to be my twin sister. I honestly think that’s her biggest flaw (I love you anyways).

This past year, my sister has been able to bond with one of my good friends, who also happens to be another Card’s fan. They have shared not only their love of baseball, but their love for St. Louis as well.

I think it is great that the Cubs and Cards get to open the MLB 2017 Season against one another. The rivalry is as strong as it has ever been and this will make for a great opening series. Now, with the utmost pleasure I say “Go Cubs Go!” Let’s have a great season of baseball!

Jessica Sanders, from Woodstock, Illinois, is a junior majoring in English with a concentration in Secondary Education. Jessica is a member of the IC Women’s Chorale and is the Editor in Chief of The Rambler, along with being a member of the literary society Chi Beta.

Leave a Reply

