Goodbye Spring Semester, You’ve Been Terrible

By: Simone Williams

As the end of the year approaches, I can finally breathe a sigh of relief. The first year of college, as a senior in high school, you can’t wait for it. You get to be on your own and do whatever you want, but we always forget about the school part, that is until classes start. I can’t speak for the other freshman, but I started off strong. I did pretty well during my first semester of college, if I do say so myself, and I do. Maybe it was the long break, or the new classes, I don’t know, but spring semester can go right to hell. I have been trying, kind of, and it’s not working out for me. Word of advice to incoming freshman, do not get lazy, this is not high school and you will not succeed just scraping by.

Now I was given that warning, and I took it seriously, at least I did first semester. I worked hard and it showed, but I guess I thought I knew it all once spring semester came around, but I didn’t, I still don’t. The good thing is I won’t fail, with enough work and hope, lots and lots of hope. However, I shouldn’t have put myself in this position. I’m writing this as a warning to all newcomers, do not fall off spring semester.

You’re going to realize around April that there are only a few assignments left to save your grade before the final. This is what I have now deemed “crunchtime”, which just so happens to be the worst feeling in the world, and I would much rather throw myself off of a building than ever feel it again, but I digress. This isn’t just about me though, this is for everyone. Don’t slack you guys, it will come back and kick you in the face, figuratively of course.

Although all the blame can’t be placed on me, most, but not all. General education courses will be the death of me. To be fair, I knew my schedule sucked going into the new semester, but somehow I still wasn’t prepared. The blame can’t be solely placed on my classes, of course, no matter how much i’d like it to. I did pick them after all, but at least some of the blame lies there. Still my point stands, this isn’t like high school, and scraping by won’t cut it. I suggest all of you heed my warning, but no doubt this late in the semester, you already know. So this is a warning for next year, don’t make the same mistakes, because although it’s important to start strong, it’s equally, if not more important to finish strong.

Simone Williams, from Chicago, Illinois is a first year student at Illinois College, majoring in English. Simone is a new writer for The Rambler, and is very passionate about all things writing.

Leave a Reply

